One of the true treasures of Grand Rapids is our Grand Rapids Symphony.

The Symphony has been performing the classics and pops since 1930, and the Grammy nominated orchestra is rated one of the top regional symphonies in the country.

This past week, the Grand Rapids Symphony Society held it's May meeting at the University Club.  They elected five new members and re-elected eleven current members to the Board. The Society also elected an Honorary Board Member. In addition, the Society elected one Endowment Trustee. Following the meeting of the Society, the Board of Directors held its annual meeting and elected officers for the coming year.

New board members elected to the Grand Rapids Symphony Society's Board of Directors include: Peg Breon, community volunteer; Art Shannon, vice president investor relations and corporate communications, Perrigo; Kevin Splaine, president, Spectrum Health Grand Rapids; Mary Tuuk, president, Fifth Third Bank - Western Michigan and Wendy Wassink, principal / strategic director, kantorwassink.

The Grand Rapids Symphony Society also elected Pamella DeVos, president and designer of pamella roland, as an Honorary Board Member of the Society's Board of Directors.

Current board members re-elected to the Society's Board of Directors include: Dr. David L. Eisler, Tim Liang, Lorissa K. MacAllister, Larry J. Murphy, Gina Paul, Jerry R. Pearson, Dr. Cornelius Plantinga, John P. Schneider, Dr. Rik L. Stevenson, Stuart Vander Heide and Skot Welch.

Ellen Satterlee, chief executive officer of the Wege Foundation, was elected as a Grand Rapids Symphony Endowment Trustee.

At a recent Endowment Trustee meeting, Joan Garety, former vice president of finance and treasurer, Meijer, was elected as Endowment Trustee Chairperson Elect, succeeding Chairperson Allan Engel on January 1, 2013. Mark Sherwood was re-elected as Secretary of the Endowment Trustees.

The Symphony Board of Directors elected the following officers: Stephen C. Waterbury, chairperson; Dr. Larry J. Robson, immediate past chairperson; Peter M. Perez, chairperson elect; Karen Henry Stokes, secretary; David Weiskittel, treasurer; Stephanie Leonardos, vice chairperson; Timothy O'Donovan, vice chairperson; and Stuart Vander Heide, vice chairperson.

The Grand Rapids Symphony has always had excellent, volunteer leadership, and this roster of board members and officers looks to keep that tradition.

More From 100.5 FM The River