On Thursday, ArtPrize announced the 2016 panel of jurors that will award the $200,000 Juried Grand Prize and $62,500 in Category Awards at ArtPrize Eight.

The $200,000 Juried Grand Prize will be awarded by a panel of three jurors:

  • Michelle Grabner, artist and professor at School of the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Paul Ha, Director at MIT List Visual Arts Center
  • Eric Shiner, Director at The Andy Warhol Museum.

Five $12,500 Category Awards will be awarded. Four awards will go to artists for outstanding work in the categories of 2-D, 3-D, Time-Based and Installation. One award will be given to an outstanding venue. The awards will be selected by:

  • Tina Rivers Ryan, New York-based art historian and critic (2-D)
  • Omar Lopez-Chahoud, Artistic Director and Curator of UNTITLED Art Fair, Miami Beach and San Francisco (3-D)
  • Yesomi Umolu, writer and Exhibitions Curator at the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts at the University of Chicago (Time-Based)
  • Deana Haggag, Director of The Contemporary in Baltimore (Installation)
  • Steve Dietz, Founder, President, and Artistic Director of Northern Lights.mn in Minneapolis (Outstanding Venue).

ArtPrize Eight will take place in Grand Rapids, September 21 - October 9.