A new grant has helped to make it possible for 25 artists to enter ArtPrize in 2014.

See who the artists are and where to find their entries.

ArtPrize made a number of announcements at their 5-year anniversary celebration on April 23. Among the announcements was the introduction of Artist Seed Grants presented by the Frey Foundation.

The Frey Foundation has committed $150,000 over the next three years for Artist Seed Grants. This year, the grants gave 25 artists $2,000 each to help the artists create and install an entry at ArtPrize.

Artists applying for the grants were required to demonstrate financial need.

ArtPrize was started so that artists could try new things...really experiment and push their limits. For a lot of [artists] especially [artists] that are traveling from out-of-state there are expenses that are involved."

The 25 recipients of Artist Seed Grants were chosen by the ArtPrize Arts Advisory Council. The AAAC is made up of national and local art critics, curators, and artists. The AAAC includes:

  • Nicole Caruth, writer, curator, editor of Art21 Magazine, New York
  • Lisa Freiman, Director of Institute for Contemporary Art at Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond
  • Reed Kroloff, architect and Director of the Cranbrook Academy of Art and Art Museum
  • Scott Stulen, Curator of Audience Experiences and Performance at Indianapolis Museum of Art
  • Joe Becherer, Chief Curator and Vice President, Horticulture and Sculpture Collections and Exhibitions at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, Grand Rapids
  • Paul Amenta, curator of SiTE:LAB, Grand Rapids
  • Dana Friis-Hansen, Director and CEO of Grand Rapids Art Museum

The 25 grant recipients include an entry which offers a chance to karaoke with a singer video projected onto a screen, bunny men in the Grand River, an entry which features audio of 37 politicians repeating "God bless America" on a loop in a dark room with a disco ball, and 22 more.


More From 100.5 FM The River