It's a sweet holiday, according to The National Confectioners Association.

I said I was going to take it easy on the Easter candy this year, but I always put away some jelly beans.

While it's not quite clear where or when these candies were invented, their popularity today is certain. 16 billion are made for Easter each year in the US.

Here's a fun fact:

Although gelatin is an animal product, not all jelly beans contain it, so vegetarians can eat jelly beans too.