Sand castles are a fun summertime tradition!

Sand castles and sand sculpting can also be a serious form of art.

Learn the art of sand sculpting from an expert for free at Michigan state parks this summer!

Professional sand artist (who knew there was such a job?!) Janet Schrader will be touring state parks and teaching her craft for free this summer.

The classes are part of the Michigan DNR's Recreation 101 programming which offers a variety of free classes. has all of the scheduling and registration information:

Sand Sculpting 101 takes place from 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. at each location, followed by Sand Sculpting 202 from 12:30 - 2 p.m. The schedule for the classes is as follows:


  • Saturday, June 1: Warren Dunes State Park (Berrien County)
  • Saturday, June 8: Van Buren State Park (Van Buren County)
  • Sunday, June 9: Holland State Park (Ottawa County)
  • Saturday, June 15: Ludington State Park (Mason County)
  • Sunday, June 16: P.J. Hoffmaster State Park (Muskegon County)
  • Monday, June 17: Muskegon State Park (Muskegon County)
  • Tuesday, June 18: Duck Lake State Park (Muskegon County)
  • Thursday, June 20: Grand Haven State Park (Ottawa County)
  • Wednesday, August 7: Silver Lake State Park (Oceana County)
  • Thursday, August 8: Charles Mears State Park (Oceana County) 


Equipment is limited for these classes, and advance registration is required. To reserve your space in the course, contact Janet Schrader at Cash or check will be accepted as payment for Sand Sculpting 202.

Sounds like a fun, unique way to spend a little time on the beach!

Learn more about Janet "The Sand Pirate" Schrader and see some of her work.

Follow Matt Milhouse on Facebook and Twitter.