Earlier today, I read about a new scam that is floating around on Facebook.

Ironically, I learned of it because a post by Mashable showed up in my News Feed on Facebook.

Here's the scoop:  When you get an email or a Facebook notification that says a friend tagged you in a new picture, be careful.  This new virus tries to get people to view photos as attachments; once you click on the link, you're infected.

Just pay attention.  Look at the spelling and usage.  And note WHAT it says.  Notifications on Facebook will always say "(friend) tagged you in a picture."  This one has a strange structure and says “one of your friends added a new photo with you to the album."

You can read the entire story and see an example of the virus message on Mashable.