ArtPrize begins September 18, but it's been a busy spring for ArtPrize fans.

Artist registration and artist/venue matching are currently taking place.

Yesterday, ArtPrize announced the jurors for this year's competition.

Artist registration runs through June 6, while Artist/venue matching runs through June 20.  As of this morning, a total of 125 matches have been made.

Yesterday, ArtPrize revealed the art professionals who will have a major impact on this year's event...the jurors.

The jurors will award $200,000 in prize money:

  • Grand Prize - $100,000
  • 2-D - $20,000
  • 3-D - $20,000
  • Time/Performance - $20,000
  • Urban Space - $20,000
  • Venue - $20,000

The jurors will also help to sway public opinion...which can lead to more money and more recognition. introduces us to the jurors for ArtPrize 2013:


  • Anne Pasternak is the President and Artistic Director of Creative Time, an organization that stages ambitious public art projects in New York City and around the world.
  • Manon Slome is President and Chief Curator of No Longer Empty, a non-profit organization that stages exhibitions in unused urban spaces.
  • Mel Chin is an artist whose work evades easy classification. Alchemy, botany, and ecology intersect in his work.


  • John Yau is a poet and critic based in New York. He has published over 50 books of artists' books, fiction, poetry, and art criticism.



  • Rashida Bumbray is an independent curator living and working in New York.



  • Alice Gray Stites is Chief Curator and Director of Art Programming for 21cMuseum, a unique hotel and contemporary art museum with locations in Louisville, Cincinnati, and Bentonville.

Follow Matt Milhouse on Facebook and Twitter.